About GECCO

GECCO is based on the Disciplinary Commons, an established model that is successful in sharing practice and catalysing new practice. It involves a group of practitioners from diverse institutions (in this case, all involved with employability) meeting three times during an academic year to share, reflect on and document their practice.

As a persistent deliverable participants prepare a “showcase” representation describing an aspect of their practice (using the format from the CPHC Computing Graduate Employability: Sharing Practice report); additionally they critique each other’s showcases, and visit each other’s institutions.

This combination of critical self-examination and peer review helps participants understand their own practice, identify places where innovation and change are desirable, share what works, borrow from others, and see their own work in the context of a broad range of possibilities.

Submission Deadlines

Submit Review Kent to print PDF to Kent
London Friday 9th December 2016 Friday 6th January 2017 Friday 24th February 2017 Friday 17th March 2017
Manchester Friday 13th January 2017 Friday 27th January 2017
Edinburgh Friday 3rd February 2017 Friday 17th February 2017

Schedule

London Series Manchester Series Edinburgh Series
Meeting 1 Friday 13th May 2016 Friday 20th May 2016 Friday 27th May 2016
Meeting 2 Thursday 7th July 2016 Friday 16th September 2016 Friday 14th October 2016
Meeting 3 Friday 18th November 2016 Friday 9th December 2016 Friday 20th January 2017